George Lopez Hates Whitey

I’ve never seen the “George Lopez” show, and I don’t know if it was funny. I’m going to go out on a limb and say it was not. I personally am not a fan of racial comedy (Hey! Our race is different than white people! That’s hysterical!), which might be why I never watched the GLs. It might also be that I never knew when it was on, I don’t watch ABC unless they’re stranding people on pergatorious islands, and no one I know has ever recommended it to me. So news of the cancellation wasn’t exactly a shock to me. George Lopez, understandably, feels a little differently.

“I get kicked out for a…caveman and shows that I out-performed because I’m not owned by [ABC Television Studios]…So a…Chicano can’t be on TV but a…caveman can?” Lopez said. “And a Chicano with an audience already? You know when you get in this that shows do not last forever, but this was an important show and to go unceremoniously like this hurts. One hundred seventy people lost their jobs.”

“TV just became really, really white again.”

Oh my god, I think I pulled a muscle in my eye sockets, from rolling them too far back. Let’s dissect this, shall we?

 

“I get kicked out for a…caveman and shows that I out-performed because I’m not owned by [ABC Television Studios]…So a…Chicano can’t be on TV but a…caveman can?”

You just answered your own question, George. You didn’t get kicked out because you’re a Chicano, you got kicked out because you weren’t owned by ABC. God, pay attention to your own argument!

 

“And a Chicano with an audience already?”

Again, anyone ever seen this show? Anyone? Don’t be shy.

 

“You know when you get in this that shows do not last forever”

Exactly. Tell it to Marc Feuerstein.

 

“This was an important show.”

No, it wasn’t.

 

“One hundred seventy people lost their jobs.”

Yeah, they lost their jobs after 5 solid seasons of employment. Boo-freaking-hoo. There are so many unemployed sitcom writers, actors, and various crew members out there, it hardly seems fair to begrudge someone else a pick up, and all the new jobs that creates. Also, take a gander at the show credits, and see how many names actually sound Chicano. Hey, don’t blame me, he played the race card first.

Man, I hope the good people at LA Times carefully edited this to make George seem looney, and used carefully placed ellipses to omit all his rational thoughts. Because otherwise, George Lopez will find himself victim to my celebrity rage. And no one who is good friends with Sandra Bullock should ever have to endure that.

George Lopez golfing

Here he is, engaging in the Whitest Game Ever Played. Don’t tell Tiger.

4 responses to “George Lopez Hates Whitey

  1. I haven’t watched TV in over a year but before that, I did watch his showa couple of times…one I made it all the way thru the show…I didn’t get most of it…and I don’t like whinners…still he’s whinning…WAAWAAaaaaaaaaa

    But perhaps George Lopez wouldn’t get “All in the Family” either.

    I don’t think he got the ax because he was Latino…I think he got the ax because it wasn’t pulling in sponsors or viewers.

    Follow the MONEY, George!

    Come see me some time, Mad Megan…

    Smiles and world peace,
    ~The Baby Boomer Queen~

  2. I did watch the show from the very begining. I thought it was a funny show. Like all shows it’s time has come and gone. Bye George. It was great but now it’s over. PS Mad Megan
    I’m still watch The Riches with Eddie Izard and still like it.

  3. Whats a George Lopez?

    Great job! This is some of your best work.

  4. Pingback: Turns Out, God Didn’t Like Jerry Falwell Either « MadMegan.net

Leave a Reply

