Alan Arkin is Kinda Mean

I am still recovering from the Annual Oscar Cupcake Eating Party I attended last night, not to mention the magnum of $3.50 champagne that washed that chocolately deliciousness down. So forgive me if I can’t take this statement from Academy Award Winning Best Supporting Actor, Alan Arkin with the appropriate grain of salt:

“On the Oscar® red carpet, when asked how Breslin is responding to the attention as a Oscar® nominee (nominated for Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role), Arkin said, “I hope she loses frankly. No, I’m serious. I am not joking.” Arkin added, “I hope she loses. What, next year she is going to get the Nobel Prize, it’s enough. She has had enough attention. I love her and I love her family; and I feel enough is enough. She is a kid; she needs to have a childhood…. I hope she loses.”

I think I get what he was saying. No one wants Abigail Breslin to squander her precious childhood by selling her adorably chubby cheeks to the highest bidding studio, only to wind up coked-out and shaven-headed in a Malibu rehabilitation center in 10 years. But geez Alan Arkin. Couldn’t you have phrased it in a way that didn’t sound so sour grapes-y? Now that she lost and you won, I think you might owe her a phone call.

Leave a Reply

